Bruce Springsteen will release his first new album in five years on June 14th, titled, Western Stars. According to the announcement, Springsteen “takes his music to a new place, drawing inspiration in part from the Southern California pop records of the late-'60s and early-'70s. The album was recorded primarily at Springsteen’s home studio in New Jersey, with additional recording in California and New York.”

Western Stars, which is available for pre-order, was produced by Ron Aniello with Springsteen providing guitar, bass, and keyboards, among other instruments. Patti Scialfa also appears and contributed vocal arrangements on four tracks, along with original E Street Band keyboardist David Sancious and current touring members Charlie Giordano, and Soozie Tyrell, among many other musicians.

Springsteen said of the album, “This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements. It's a jewel box of a record.” The lyric video for the album's track, “Hello Sunshine” was uploaded to YouTube this morning at midnight.

Bruce Springsteen continues to create new work in the hopes of further connecting with his core base of fans: “It deepens your relationship with you're audience, y'know, that's been my pursuit since I've started and continues to be so today. Y'know, I'm trying to deepen my conversation about life in general. Things that hopefully matter to me and hopefully matter to them and Martin Scorsese once said, 'The job of the artist is to get the audience to care about your obsessions, and to meet you in the middle, and to see what you have in common.'”

Steve Van Zandt, who met Bruce Springsteen when they were 16, told us that in all of his travels he's never encountered an artist or performer even close to Bruce Springsteen: “He's an exception to almost any rule. Y'know, anybody that follows the pattern of his sort of career choices is doomed (laughs) to failure — I promise you, okay? It's not like. . . He is completely unique in what he can pull off — and you get used to that.”

The tracklisting to Western Stars is:

“Hitch Hikin'”
“The Wayfarer”
“Tucson Train”
“Western Stars”
“Sleepy Joe’s Cafe”
“Drive Fast (The Stuntman)”
“Chasin’ Wild Horses”
“Somewhere North Of Nashville”
“There Goes My Miracle”
“Hello Sunshine”
“Moonlight Motel”