Coming on September 28th is Aretha Franklin's The Atlantic Singles Collection: 1967-1970. The collection features 34 singles, which the “Queen Of Soul” released during her first three years with Atlantic Records. The tracks appeared on such groundbreaking albums as 1967's I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You and Aretha Arrives, 1968's Lady Soul and Aretha Now, 1969's Soul '69, along with 1970's This Girl's In Love With You and Spirits In The Dark (1970). The lone exception to the chronology is Aretha's legendary cover of Elton John's “Border Song,” which was released as a single in 1970 and later appeared on her 1972 album Young, Gifted And Black.

Highlights on the album feature the “Queen Of Soul's” nine R&B hits “I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You),” “Respect” (also a Hot 100 chart-topper), “Baby I Love You,” “Chain Of Fools,” “(Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You've Been Gone,” “Think,” “Share Your Love With Me,” “Call Me” and “Don't Play That Song.” In addition to that, The Atlantic Singles Collection features Aretha's takes on Sam Cooke's “You Send Me,” the Band's “The Weight,” the Beatles' “Eleanor Rigby,” and Dionne Warwick's “I Say A Little Prayer,” which became a Billboard Top 10 hit for Aretha in 1968.

Although her talents would've undoubtedly found their way to the world at large had she signed to Berry Gordy's local Motown Records — the “Queen Of Soul” ended up going in another direction: “When I was first embarking, going in to New York, my father went and talked to Berry. I don't know what happened but it was finally decided that I would go to Columbia and audition for John Hammond, and that's where I went. But I'm very much a Motown artist and supporter. I always have been.”