Peter Gabriel will released a new compilation, titled Rated PG for Record Store Day on April 13th. The 10-track vinyl collection spotlights Gabriel's songs written specifically for and/or featured in various big screen movie projects over the years. In the album's announcement, Gabriel said, "I have always loved film and any chance I have been offered to work with good film projects and good directors I have jumped at. This is a mixture of songs that have been written for specific films, and existing songs that found an appropriate place in a story. Consequently, there is a mix of different styles and moods."

Among the high profile movies to have featured Gabriel's music are Alan Parker's Birdy from 1985, Martin Scorsese's The Last Temptation Of Christ, Philip Noyce’s 2002 film Rabbit-Proof Fence, Oliver Stone's Natural Born Killers from 1994 -- along with the iconic use of "In Your Eyes" in Cameron Crowe's 1989 comedy Say Anything.

Amazingly, aside from soundtrack projects, Peter Gabriel has only issued four mainstream studio albums since the release of 1986' So. Gabriel explained that the main reason why his albums take so long is that the lyrics always seem to come at a snail's pace: "I'm much quicker getting the musical ideas than I am sort of sorting out and finishing lyrics, which, to get past my editor, is a lot harder. That's me, I'm afraid. Y'know, your own sort of quality control, but the point at which you say, 'OK, that's all right to go out. I'm not gonna be embarrassed by that one,' I can do that very quickly with music and very slowly with lyrics."

The tracklisting to Peter Gabriel's 2019 vinyl release, Rated PG:

Side One

"That’ll Do" - from Babe 2: Pig In The City
"Down To Earth" - from Wall-E
"This Is Party Man" - from Virtuosity. New version, previously unreleased
"The Book Of Love" - from Shall We Dance? The film version, different to the Scratch My Back version
"Taboo" - from Natural Born Killers, featuring Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan.

Side Two

"Everybird" - from Birds Like Us, previously unreleased
"Walk Through The Fire" - from Against All Odds
"Speak (Bol)" - from The Reluctant Fundamentalist. New version, previously unreleased
"Nocturnal" - from Les Morsures de l’Aube. Previously unreleased
"In Your Eyes" - from Say Anything. The film version, previously unreleased.