Sting has announced his latest concert album, titled My Songs: Live, which will be released on November 8th. The collection, culled from shows earlier this year, is a companion piece to last May's studio set, My Songs, in which he updated 15 of his solo and Police classics. Among the tunes featured on the new 11-track live set are such favorites as “Message In A Bottle,” “Brand New Day,” “Wrapped Around Your Finger,” “Desert Rose,” and “Every Breath You Take, among others.

Sting admitted to us a while back that an allure to life on the road is that it alleviates the pressure to write new material: “I mean, I love touring — I love being on tour. It also, um, y'know, prevents me from having to sit down and face a blank page again. There's not much thinking involved.”

Sting told us that the element of surprise is key in keeping music interesting and ageless — which is something he tried to inject into the musical reinventions of My Songs: “I've never been afraid to challenge people's expectations; and for me, the most important element in any music is surprise. I need to surprise people within four bars, eight bars. . . When I listen to music, I need to be surprised otherwise I stop listening — if I know what's coming next. I think of those songs no matter who I'm working with at the time. Y'know, I'm a songwriter, I always have been. But I'm always excited by other people's take on the basic bones of the song.”

Sting performs tonight (October 7th) in Fukuoka, Japan.

The tracklisting to Sting's My Songs: Live is:

Introduction / Message In A Bottle”
“Englishman In New York”
“Brand New Day”
“Wrapped Around Your Finger”
“Seven Days”
“King Of Pain”
“So Lonely”
“Desert Rose”
“Every Breath You Take”